About This Item About
Transcription
Related Items

Title

Myla Dizon

Creator

Date

Description

Myla Lavapie Dizon was born and grew up in San Pablo City, Laguna province, Philippines. She and her three children immigrated to the United States in 2012 after receiving authorization to rejoin her husband, who had come to the US five years earlier. The family settled in St. Paul, MN.

Duration

0:03:07

Ethnicity

World Region

Language

Collection

Rights

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License. Please contact Immigration History Research Center staff for permissions not covered by this Creative Commons license.

Transcription

Myla Dizon Transcription
My name is Myla Lavapie Dizon. I’m from the Philippines. I was born on October 16. I’m a Filipina. I grew up in San Pablo City, Laguna. My life then was very happy because I had two and loving parents. I have three siblings and I’m the youngest. We’re very close to each other. I came here in the United States on August 5, 2012, with my three children. We came here because we were petitioned by my husband, who had immigrated five years earlier.
My husband came to the Philippines with my sister-in-law. They picked us up because my sister- in-law works at Delta Airlines so we used her itinerary. When we were in Japan we were stranded for 7 hours because we were standby passengers. When we took our flight to Hawaii, we met my brother there and his family. We spent one night with them. We ate at Max’s Restaurant and then we went to the mall with my nephews and niece. My children miss their cousins so much. After Hawaii we flew to San Francisco and I’m sad to say we were stranded again for 4 hours. After a long wait, finally, we had a flight to Minneapolis.
After a long journey, finally, we came here safe, thanks to God. I left my father in the Philippines. It’s so sad because I miss my father a lot. I need to be here because I want my own family to be complete. It’s important for me to be here because it’s for the future of my children. I think here, their education is sure to be a good one. For the last two years I haven’t had work. My priority now is my children ages 14, 11, and 4. My husband said he has a good job, so I don’t have to rush to get a job. I decided to go to adult school to practice my English, so here I am writing my immigrant story.