About This Item About
Transcription
Related Items

Title

Maria García Sánchez

Date

Description

Maria García Sánchez was born in Tarimbaro, a small town in Michoacán, Mexico. She went to school in Mexico and studied elementary education in college. She came to Houston, TX with her parents, sister, and two brothers in 2003. A month later, the family moved to Minnesota. Maria later met her husband in Minnesota and they have a daughter.

Duration

0:02:39

Ethnicity

World Region

Language

Collection

Rights

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License. Please contact Immigration History Research Center staff for permissions not covered by this Creative Commons license.

Transcription

Maria García Transcription
My name is Maria E. García. I’m 30 years old. I was born in June 1984 in the state Michoacán, Mexico in a small town. Now you know I’m Hispanic. When I was 1 year old my brother Pedro was born. I just start kindergarten when I was 5 years old. After that, the elementary school, it was very difficult for me like torture. I didn’t like to wake up to start the study. I’m so really bad at studying. One of these days my second brother Omar was born. Later at the middle school, I started to appreciate school and my family saw progress. In the middle of this year my sister Julisa and brother Erick were born. I was the valedictorian of my middle school class. The high school was the best time of my life. Everything was fun. I started to go out alone with friends. I enjoyed my studies too. After high school, in college to be an elementary school teacher. This was very different from my previous schools. Throughout this time I helped my mom to clean the house and take care of my brother and my sister since they are younger than me by many years. Life in Mexico was great.
Then, everything changed. I coming to U.S.A. in July 2003 with my whole family: my dad, mom, and brothers and my sister. First I come here just for vacation but I felt very nervous in Mexico because I needed to live alone with my grandma and grandpa. The first month we lived in Houston TX. Oh, so hot, especially this month. My dad decided to move to Minnesota and we went to Minnesota. When it was time for me to go back to Mexico it was not fun for me and I talked to my dad, “Please I don’t want go back to Mexico. Please.” He let me stay here, begin a new and very different life. I met my husband here and we married after 1years and a half of dating. 5 year later we have a beautiful girl. She is almost 5 years old. It’s complicated because I need to work and if I have extra money I travel to Mexico. Now I have lived here almost 12 years.
Beginning life here was a little difficult since I brought just a few clothes and all my memories. I had to leave behind my friends and all the really good memories about them.